Laos Border

Apart from its main airports, Laos is accessible by land or water at many border crossing points where it shares border with its neighboring countries (Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam, and China).

Lao International Airports

  • Wattay International Airport, Vientiane Capital
  • Luang Prabang International Airport, Luang Prabang province
  • Pakse International Airport, Champasak province
  • Savannakhet International Airport, Savannakhet province

Land border crossing or Checkpoints

Most land border crossing points issue Lao visa on arrival.

The checkpoints that marked "No VA" do not issue visa on arrival. Travelers who wish to cross the border to Laos at these checkpoints need to obtain Lao visa prior to arriving.

Red dots on the map represent border checkpoints. Move the mouse cursor over them for details.

Cambodia - Laos
Dong Kralor - Veun Kham - The checkpoint links the Laos province of Champasak with the Cambodian province of Strung Treng, where Laos national road No.13 meets Cambodia national highway No.7. It is sometimes referred to as Stung Treng/Dong Kralor (some even spell it Dom Kralor) which can be confusing, but don't be confused. Whatever it's called or referred to, just remember that there is only one border crossing point between Laos and Cambodia that is currently open.

To make it a bit clearer, Stung Treng is a Cambodian province, while Dong Kralor is a sub-district in that province where the border crossing point is located. Similarly, Veun Kham is a village on the Lao side of the border so... that is where the name Veun Kham/Dong Krolor (or Dong Krolor/Veun Kham) border crossing comes from.

China - Laos
  • Mohan - Boten (Yunnan to Luang Namtha province)
  • Xiengkok riverport on Mekong River to Luang Namtha province. No VA
  • Sobhun checkpoint (Yunnan to Phongsaly province). No VA
Thailand - Laos
  • Chiang Khong - Houy Xai (Chiang Rai Province to Bokeo province)
  • Nakaxeng - Kaenthao (Loei province to Sayabouly Province)
  • Nong Khai - Vientiane (Thai-Lao Freindship Bridge No. 1)
  • Houai Kon - Nam Ngeun (Nan - Sayabouly Province)
  • Bungkan - Pakxan (Nong Khai prov to Bolikhamxai prov.), No VA
  • Nakon Phanom - Thakhaek (Nakon Phanom prov to Khammouane prov.)
  • Mukdaharn - Savannakhet (Mukdaharn prov to Savannakhet prov viaThai-Lao Friendship Bridge No.2)
  • Chong Mek - Vangtao (Ubon Rathchathani Prov. to Champassak Prov.)
  • Chiang Khong - Bokeo Province
Vietnam - Laos
  • Tay Trang- Sobboun (Laichau, Vietnam to Pongsaly Province)
  • Nameo - Banteui (Thanh Hua to Huaphanh province)
  • Namkan - NamCan (Nge An to Xiengkhuang province)
  • Keoneua - Namphao (Hatinh to Bolikhamxai province)
  • Chalo - Napao (Guangbinh to Khammoun province), No VA
  • Lao Bao - Dansavanh (Quang Tri prov to Savannakhet prov)
  • Bo Y - Phukeua (Kon Tum prov to Attapeu prov)
Myanmar - Laos
  • Vang Poung - Ban Muang Mom (Yangon - Bokeo Province) No VA